View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun May 29, 2022 4:25 am



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 SKIES!!!! 

USEFUL
YES 67%  67%  [ 2 ]
NO 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
MAYBE 33%  33%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 3

 SKIES!!!! 
Author Message
★★★★★
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 6:23 pm
Posts: 472
Location: BURNING IN HELL
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Quote:
EDIT
NOT DO NOT BY ANY CIRMCUMSTANCE CREATE A GIANT BOX AROUND YOUR MAP AND MAKE IT HOLLOW :ahhh: :ahhh:
IT CAN SLOW THE COMPILING TIME AND JUST MAKE THE MAP RUN REALLY SLOW
THAT MEANS YOU TWO "THE ALIEN"
IF YOU REALLY ARE AN ALIEN
:lol:



SKY

SKY IS REALLY EASY

I TAKE NO CREDIT FOR THE CREATION OF THE IMAGES IN THIS POST
I DID NOT MAKE THEM

FIRST
Image
IN THE MAP MENU AT THE TOP- MAP PROPERTIES
DOESN'T LOOK EXACTLY LIKE THE PICTURE

LIST OF SKY TEXTURES
2desertImage
alien1Image
alien2Image
alien3Image
black-self explanitory
cliffImage
cityImage
desertImage
duskImage
morningImage
neb1Image
neb2bImage
neb6Image
neb7Image
nightImage
spaceImage
xen8Image
xen9Image
xen10Image
THERE ARE WAYS TO USE CUSTOM SKY TEXTURE I JUST DON'T KNOW HOW

NEXT
USE THIS AS AN EXAMPLE
ImageImage
ImageImage
FIND THE SKY TEXTURE
ITS JUST A LIGHT BLUE COLOR
IT MOST LIKELY WON'T SAY SKY ON LIKE THE PICTURE
JUST CLOSE THE MAP WITH THE SKY TEXTURES
IF YOU HAVE A HUGE ROOM
AND YOUR USING LIGHTS
YOU MAY GET A MAX LEAF FACES ERROR
TO AVOID THIS
JUST CREATE SMALL SQUARES OF SKY TEXTURES THAT COVER THE SAME AREA
SAME WITH THE FLOOR
IT SHOULD FIX THE ERROR
IF IT DOESN'T WORK
THEN EITHER RESTART OR MAKE IT SMALLER
NOTE
I'M NOT SURE IF IT WILL ACTUALLY WORK
I'VE SEEN WHAT APPEARED TO BE IT IN SOME MAPS I'VE DECOMPLIDED
I KINDA TRIED IT WITH HELLOWEEN
BUT I NEVER TRIED IT WITH A GIANT CEIL

_________________
Image
Image


Fri Sep 26, 2008 12:30 pm
Profile
★★★★
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:35 pm
Posts: 379
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
ummmm... link please?

_________________
Image
Image


Sun Sep 28, 2008 7:36 am
Profile
★★★★★
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 6:23 pm
Posts: 472
Location: BURNING IN HELL
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
how is my explination not good??

_________________
Image
Image


Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:24 pm
Profile
★★★★★
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:36 pm
Posts: 29
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
It's alright I guess, I already figured out how to do that stuff already though.

Also, you need to settle on the caps and such and make it out more neat, that can really drag people away.

_________________
derp


Sun Sep 28, 2008 1:47 pm
Profile
★★★★
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:35 pm
Posts: 379
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
You kinda lost me with it about half way thourgh.

_________________
Image
Image


Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:09 pm
Profile
★★★★

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
What .wad shows those Xen skies? I'd love to use them.


Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:44 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 9:05 pm
Posts: 1426
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 13 times
No wad does, look in your /gfx/env/ directory in sc and hl(if you extracted the files from the hl gcf.)

_________________
/!\ New MC players please read these 2 threads: Rules and Starter Guide. /!\

Image
Image
[ Steam group for my SC game servers. - Cartman-2000's image host ]


Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:40 pm
Profile
★★★★

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
How do I use them if their not in a .wad file?


Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:58 am
Profile
★★★★★
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 6:23 pm
Posts: 472
Location: BURNING IN HELL
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
all skyse arent in a wad
all they really are is 6 different images sumulating
up
down
north
east
south
west
these are usually tga files
the files do not get put in your wad
skies are used in the map options menu
not in wad
if your using one of the skies listed above
you don't need a custom made series of tga images becuase these are defualted for all half-life non-source games
if the game doesn't find something it needs to run
the next place it looks is in the "half-life.gcf" file which contains all the files half-life needs to run

_________________
Image
Image


Fri May 01, 2009 12:40 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF.
[ Time : 0.053s | 20 Queries | GZIP : On ]