Cartman-2000's Sven Co-op server forum
http://sc.cartman-2000.net/forum/

How to add custom models to your map
http://sc.cartman-2000.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=428
Page 1 of 1

Author:  The alien [ Sat May 02, 2009 9:48 pm ]
Post subject:  How to add custom models to your map

Yes, yes I know a lot of you know how to do this but the newbies for VHE don't :)

So here I go, it will be pretty damn short because it isn't that difficult.

First, get the models you want. As in a new Gauss, Egon, shotgun,etc.

Then when your working on your map spawn the weapon that you want to replace(as in spawn a weapon_Gauss) and go to it's properties page and scroll down in till you see "Custom Model" or something like that, and press the button besides the bar and search for the model. Make sure you made a folder of your map name and place it in models with the weapon model along with it.



That will work if it doesn't wtf did you do
:look:


Just for the hell of it.......here are some models that you might like.

Note:I did make any of these models, I found them on Sven Coop forums.

Attachments:
Desktop.zip [314.09 KiB]
Downloaded 461 times

Author:  cartman-2000 [ Sat May 02, 2009 10:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to add custom models to your map

Actually it would be better to replace models using the global model replacement file, that way non default models aren't going against the limited model precache count limit(for weapons and some other models.) the engine has. Going through the w_,v_, p_model options in the entities allow you to use a different model but it doesn't actually replace it explicitly, which means the regular model can be used, global model replacement explicitly replaces the model so the custom model is the only one that can be used and the default ones aren't precached, which would take 3 models off of the precache then doing it the other way.

Author:  The alien [ Sat May 02, 2009 10:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to add custom models to your map

I tried to use that global model file, but I saw examples and I tried to copy them but it still didn't work.

Author:  cartman-2000 [ Sat May 02, 2009 10:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to add custom models to your map

For your mars map something like this should work.

Make a file named mars.gmr in your maps directory, and put this in it.
Code:
"models/p_9mmAR.mdl"      "models/Mars/p_9mmar.mdl"
"models/v_9mmar.mdl"      "models/Mars/v_9mmar.mdl"
"models/w_9mmar.mdl"      "models/Mars/w_9mmar.mdl"
"models/w_9mmarclip.mdl"      "models/Mars/w_9mmarclip.mdl"

Then add this to your maps config file.
globalmodellist ../../maps/mars.gmr

Author:  impcnrd [ Sun May 03, 2009 6:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to add custom models to your map

cartman-2000 wrote:
Actually it would be better to replace models using the global model replacement file, that way non default models aren't going against the limited model precache count limit(for weapons and some other models.) the engine has. Going through the w_,v_, p_model options in the entities allow you to use a different model but it doesn't actually replace it explicitly, which means the regular model can be used, global model replacement explicitly replaces the model so the custom model is the only one that can be used and the default ones aren't precached, which would take 3 models off of the precache then doing it the other way.

it took me like a week to figure out how that worked
its easy once you get it
its also more realistic and less time consuming

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/